School Council

Mullewa DHS School Council

Chairperson: TBA

Secretary: TBA

Principal: Mrs Nicki Patterson

Committee Members:

Mrs Valma Flanagan

Ms Ruth Simpson

Mrs Kath Park

Ms Jacqui Comeagain

Mr Julius Ngitoria Japhet

The functions of Councils are prescribed by the School Education Act 1999 and the School Education Regulations 2000 as follows:

 Take part in:

  • establishing and reviewing from time to time, the school’s objectives, priorities and general policy directions;
  • planning financial arrangements necessary to fund those objectives, priorities and directions;
  • evaluating the school’s performance in achieving those objectives, priorities and directions; and
  • formulating codes of conduct for students at the school.
  • take part in the selection of, but not the appointment of, the school principal or any other member of the teaching staff if prior approval is given by the Regional Executive Director.

Approve of:

  • a charge or contribution determined by the principal for the provision of materials, services and facilities;
  • the costs determined by the principal to be paid for participation in an extra cost optional component of the school’s educational program;
  • the items determined by the principal to be supplied by a student for the student’s personal use in the school’s educational program; and
  • an agreement or arrangement for advertising or sponsorship in relation to a government school.

Including endorsing and reviewing the school’s annual budget (the budget summarises the income received annually by the Department of Education and other sources; it also lists planned expenditure, including salaries). 

School Council Meetings are open to the public in an observation capacity only. Meeting minutes are available on this website. 

Minutes 1 November 2018